top of page
Search
Writer's pictureTiffany Huggins

My Journey into the Birth World

Hi! I am Tiffany and I am a wife, stay at home mom, doula, and midwife assistant. My journey into the birth world started about three years ago. I was pregnant with my second child and wanted to do things different this time around. With my first (in 2016) I saw an OBGYN and was induced at 39 weeks. I wasn’t fully educated on birth and I just did whatever the doctor told me to do. I ended up with a traumatic labor and emergency c-section. The environment that I was in I did not feel like I was heard at all and just felt like another mother on the assembly line.


Before I was pregnant the second time around I started looking more into birthing at home. So the night I found out I was pregnant I messaged a midwife to sent up a consult to meet with her and after that meeting I hired her. All through out my pregnancy I researched more into home birth, and watched as many home birth stories as one could. I was finally over my due date when I went into labor (all on my on!!) I was in labor for two days but it was so much different from my first. My birth team was so kind and patient and by God’s lovingkindness our daughter was born in our bedroom.


I had already thought about becoming a doula while I was pregnant but after her birth it just felt like a calling. I wanted others to experience what I had experienced; a loving and safe environment to birth in. So when my daughter was four months old I started my training as a doula and it wasn’t long after that Deanna ( a local midwife)


 

asked me if I would like to be her assistant. It’s been a wonderful experience these past two years being a part of  babies being brought into this world in hospital and home birth settings.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page